:::PunLib | Top Bar:::
PunLib Home Contacts PunLib on Facebook Follow PunLib on Twitter PunLib at LinkedIn RSS Feed Image Add This Logo
Quick Links
A Network of Public Libraries in RajasthanWednesday December 06, 2023 GMT
Rajsthan Public Library System

A room without books is like a body without a soul -- Marcus Tullius Cicero You are at home » directory » divisional library, ajmer

Rajkya Saravjanik Mandal Pustakalya, Ajmer


Ajmer is the district headquarter of Ajmer district and also a division in the state of Rajsthan with Ajmer, Bhilwara, Nagaur and Tonk districts.

It was founded by Ajaipal Chauhan in Seventh century AD. He constructed a hill fort called 'Ajaimeur' meaning 'invincible hill'. He was founder of Chauhan dynasty that dominated the region for centeries to come. Many Muslim, neighbouring Hindu and Marathas occupied Ajmer from time to time. In 1818, Ajmer was being ruled by the Marathas and they sold it to the British. Since then it enjoyed almost a stable governance till independence of India, after which it was merged in Rajsthan state of India.

Ajmer is surrounded by Aravalli Moutains and is a popular Muslim pilgrimage city for the Dargah (shrine) of Sufi Saint Khwaja Moinuddin Chishti. The shrine is visited both by Hindus and Muslims. The Pushkar is another famous Hindu pilgrimage in the area.

The library was established on 14th September, 1997 after the formation of Ajmer division. Prior to that Ajmer was part of Jaipur division.


The library has its own single storey building. The building has been divided into different sections for convenience. The sections are reading room, stack room, children section, librarian's room, office and store.


Ajmer is located at a distance of 392 Kms (approx.) from national capital New Delhi and 138 Kms (Approx.) from state capital Jaipur.

The library is located in the Shiksha Parisar, at the back of the city Railway Station.


The library has following posts:
Sr.No.DesignationNo. of Posts


The library has rich collection of 17000+ books. The whole collection has been divided into many general and special collections arranged according to DDC-19 classification scheme with AACR2 catalogue. The process of automation is underway using E-pustakalya.

The library subscribes 12 newspapers in English & Hindi and 77 magazines.

The prominent newspapers subscribed by the library are:
Sr.No.Name of NewspaperLanguage
1The Indian ExpressEnglish
2Times of IndiaEnglish
3Employment NewsEnglish
5Rashtriya SaharaHindi
6Dainik NavjyotiHindi
7Punjab KesriHindi
8Dainik BhaskarHindi
9Rashtriya DootHindi
10Jan SaptahHindi
11Rajsthan PatrikaHindi
12Rozgar SamacharHindi


The library has around 143 registered active members for this session.

The library offers membership for a period of one session (1st April to 31st March) and is renewable thereafter. There is a no membeship fee. A refundable security of Rs 1000/- needs to be paid at the time of Ist registration by outsiders in the absence of any quranttee from a local authority. This secutiry is carried forward during periodical renewals.

Membership Fee:

  • Adults Rs 21 (form price Rs 1 extra)
  • Children (5-14 years) Rs 10 (form price Rs 1 extra)

Information Technology

The library makes use of computer for office work. The automation of library operations will start soon. The library offers photocopy facility to its members at the nominal rate of Rs 1/page. The library is connected through internet.

Working Hours

The library remains closed on every Tuesday. The library timings vary according to the season.

  • Summer (Ist April to 30th September) 12:00 noon to 8:00 pm
  • Winter (Ist October to 31st March) 11:00 am to 7:00 pm


Rajkya Saravajanik Mandal Pustakalya (Divisional Library),
Shiksha Parisar,
Beind Railway Station
Ajmer (RJ)-305001.
Phone: +91 145 262 8641
home| about rjpls| directory| photo gallery| membership| library rules| internet links| feed back| contact us|
^ Go Top

© 2008-2023 PunLib
All Rights Reserved ((Read Best View))