:::PunLib | Top Bar:::
PunLib Home Contacts PunLib on Facebook Follow PunLib on Twitter PunLib at LinkedIn RSS Feed Image Add This Logo
Quick Links
A Network of Public Libraries in RajasthanWednesday December 06, 2023 GMT
Rajsthan Public Library System

A room without books is like a body without a soul -- Marcus Tullius Cicero You are at home » directory » divisional library, bharatpur

Rajkya Sarvajanik Mandal Pustakalya (Divisional Library), Bharatpur


Bharatpur, also known as 'The Eastern Gateway to Rajsthan' and 'Lohgarh' is a division and district headquarter. It was founded by Maharaja Suraj Mal of Mewat region in 1733 AD. It is believed that Bharatpur was named after Bharat, the brother of Lord Rama. Lord Rama's other younger brother was the family diety of Bharatpur ruling family. Bharatpur along with Deeg and Dholpur has played an important role in the History of Rajsthan.

The library was established on August 2008 after the formation of Bharatpur into a new division with Bharatpur, Dholpur, Karauli and Sawai Madhopur districts.


The library has its own single storey building. The library was started at the existing premises of the District Library. Later the district library was shifted to the Deeng Tehsil headquarters. So now the building is being fully utilized by the divisional library.

The building has been divided into different sections for convenience. These are Children's Section, Women Section, Senior Citizen's Section and New Literate Section. The building has reading room, stack room, children section, librarian's room, office & store etc.


Bharatpur is located on NH-11 at a distance of about 182 Kms from national capital New Delhi and about 180 Kms from the state capital Jaipur.

The library is located on the Atal Bandh Road opposite Satellite Hospital.


The library has following posts:
Sr.No.DesignationNo. of Posts
2Librarian 2nd Grd.1


The library has rich collection of 40000+ books. The whole collection has been divided into many general and special collections arranged according to DDC-19 classification scheme with AACR2 catalogue. The process of automation is underway using E-pustakalya.

The library subscribes to 12 newspapers in English & Hindi and 60 magazines.

The prominent newspapers subscribed by the library are:
Sr.No.Name of NewspaperLanguage
1Times of IndiaEnglish
2Indian ExpressEnglish
3Hindustan TimesEnglish
4Nafa NuksaanHindi
5Dainik BhaskarHindi
6Dainik JagranHindi
7Dainik NavjyotiHindi
8Amar UjalaHindi
9Punjab KesriHindi
10Jan SattaHindi
11Daily NewsHindi
12Rajsthan PatrikaHindi


The library has around 450 registered active members for this session.

The library offers membership for a period of one session (1st April to 31st March) and is renewable thereafter. A refundable security needs to be paid at the time of Ist registration by outsiders in the absence of any quranttee from a local authority. This secutiry is carried forward during periodical renewals. The the membership fee is as under,

Membership Fee:

  • Adults Rs 50 (form price Rs 1 extra)
  • Children (5-14 years) Rs 50 (form price Rs 1 extra)

Information Technology

The library has two computers. The automation of library operations is underway. The library is connected through internet.

Working Hours

The library remains closed on every Tuesday. The library timings vary according to the season.

  • Summer (Ist April to 30th September) 12:00 noon to 8:00 pm
  • Winter (Ist October to 31st March) 11:00 am to 7:00 pm


Rajkya Sarvajanik Mandal Purstakalya (Divisional Library),
Atal Bandh Road,
Opposite Satellite Hospital,
Bharatpur (RJ)-321001.
Phone: +91 5644 221 353
E-mail: n.bootauliya@rediffmail.com
home| about rjpls| directory| photo gallery| membership| library rules| internet links| feed back| contact us|
^ Go Top

© 2008-2023 PunLib
All Rights Reserved ((Read Best View))