:::PunLib | Top Bar:::
PunLib Home Contacts PunLib on Facebook Follow PunLib on Twitter PunLib at LinkedIn RSS Feed Image Add This Logo
Quick Links
A Network of Public Libraries in RajasthanWednesday December 06, 2023 GMT
Rajsthan Public Library System

A room without books is like a body without a soul -- Marcus Tullius Cicero You are at home » directory » district library, Nokha

Rajkya Sarvajanik Zila Pustakalya (District Library), Nokha


Nokha is a Tehsil Headquarter in Bikaner district of Rajashtan State. It was established by Maharaja Ganga Singh, a king of Bikaner state as a market town. It is still an important market town in the region with a considerable volume of small scale industry.

The library was established in 1956. Bikaner already had a divisional library as it is the divisional headquarter along with being the district headquarter, so the district library was established at Nokha and not at Bikaner.

The library was started at a rented building near the Tehsil Bhawan. It continued from this location till 1980. In the Ist half of 1980s the library saw many ups and downs. It was shifted to the local Govt. Senior Secondary School. After that plans were to shift the library to Napsar, another town nearby, where it was planned to merge it with another public library operational in that town at that time. But eventually the plan was dropped as the library was offered a building by a local trust.


The library occupies a spacious hall, provided by a local trust. The hall has been divided into different fuctional units for easy maintenance.


Nokha is at a distance of about 460 Kms from National Capital New Delhi and about 310 Kms from state capital Jaipur.

The library is located in the center of the city, near the Ghantaghar (clock tower), opposite the Nawli Gate Water Works. It is around 100 meters from the city bus stand and around 300 meters from the city railway station. It is very easily accessible from all sides.


The chronological list of librarians who headed the library from 1980s onwards is as under,

  • Mr Vidya Sagar Mishra from 08.09.1980 to 01.03.1986
  • Ms Anandi Mathur from 02.03.1986 to 30.08.1989
  • Mr Raj Kawar Kirdu from 01.05.1991 to 26.03.1958
  • Mr Baghirath Sharma from 17.05.1999 to 10.08.2000
  • Ms Anita Aggarwal from 10.05.2000 to 14.10.2002
  • Mr Puran Ram Choudhary from 28.02.2004 to 30.09.2010
The library has following posts:
Sr.No.DesignationNo. of Posts


The library has a rich collection of 38,000+ books. The whole collection has been divided into many general and special sub-collections.

The library subscribes to 8 newspapers in English & Hindi and 45 magazines.

The prominent newspapers subscribed by the library are:
Sr.No.Name of NewspaperLanguage
1Rajasthan PatrikaHindi
2Dainik BhaskarHindi
3Dainik NavjyotiHindi
4Punjab KesriHindi
5Rastrya DootHindi
6Hindustan TimesEnglish
7Business StandardEnglish


The library offers membership for a period of one session (1st April to 31st March) and is renewable thereafter. The membership fee is as under,

Membership Fee:

  • All Categories Rs 21 (form price Rs 1 and membership card charges Rs 1)

Information Technology

The library has a computer for office use with internet connectivity.

Working Hours

The library remains closed on every Tuesday. The library timings vary according to the season.

  • Summer (Ist April to 30th September) 12:00 noon to 8:00 pm
  • Winter (Ist October to 31st March) 11:00 am to 7:00 pm


Rajkya Saravajanik Zila Pustakalya (District Library),
Near Gantaghar (Clock Tower),
Opposite Navli Gate Water Works,
Nokha (RJ)-334803.
Phone: +91 1531 223 749
home| about rjpls| directory| photo gallery| membership| library rules| internet links| feed back| contact us|
^ Go Top

© 2008-2023 PunLib
All Rights Reserved ((Read Best View))