:::PunLib | Top Bar:::
PunLib Home Contacts PunLib on Facebook Follow PunLib on Twitter PunLib at LinkedIn RSS Feed Image Add This Logo
Quick Links
A Network of Public Libraries in RajasthanWednesday December 06, 2023 GMT
Rajsthan Public Library System

A room without books is like a body without a soul -- Marcus Tullius Cicero You are at home » directory » district library, sirohi

Rajkya Sarvajanik Zila Pustakalya (District Library), Sirohi


Sirohi is the district headquarter of the district with the same name. It was founded by Rao Sobhaji and his son in 15th century. In 1405, Rao Sobhaji founded the town of Shivpuri on the western slope of Siranwa Hill. It today lies in ruins. in 1425 his son Sehastramal founded a fortress on the eastern slope of the same hill. This became capital of his state and developed into present day Sirohi. In Puranic literature it is also mentioned as 'Arbudh Pradesh' and 'Arbudanchal'.

After independence the state administration of Sirohi was handed over to Bombay Government till January 1950 when it was merged with Rajsthan state as a separate district.

The library was established in the year 1945 as a public library in a school building. Later it became a district library in 1947 after the independence of India.


The library has a beautifully designed single storey building. It has a spacious hall that acts as a stack room area for its massive collection, a veranda that is being used for reading purpose by the readers, a librarian's room, an office room and a front lawn along with parking space.


Sirohi is at a distance of about 690 Kms from national capital Delhi and around 430 Kms from state capital Jaipur on NH 14.

The library is located near the Ahinsa Circle on the Palace Road. It is about 3 Kms from the city bus stand.


The library has following posts:
Sr.No.DesignationNo. of Posts
1LibrarianMr Kesar Singh Dabbi


The library has a rich collection of 46,000+ books. The whole collection has been divided into many general and special collections arranged according to DDC-19 classification scheme with a bound register catalogue.

The library subscribes to 7 newspapers in English & Hindi and 60 magazines.

The prominent newspapers subscribed by the library are:
Sr.No.Name of NewspaperLanguage
1Rajsthan PatrikaHindi
2Dainik BhaskarHindi
3Dainik NavjyotiHindi
4Samachar JagatHindi
5Rastrya DootHindi
6Times of IndiaEnglish


The library has around 30 registered active members for this session till now.

The library offers membership for a period of one session (1st April to 31st March) and is renewable thereafter. The membership fee is as under,

Membership Fee:

  • Adults Rs 25 (including form price)

Information Technology

The library has two computers with internet facility and photocopy facility is also available.

Working Hours

The library remains closed on every Tuesday. The library timings vary according to the season.

  • Summer (Ist April to 30th September) 12:00 noon to 8:00 pm
  • Winter (Ist October to 31st March) 11:00 am to 7:00 pm


Rajkya Saravajanik Zila Pustakalya (District Library),
Near Ahinsa Circle,
Palace Road,
Sirohi (RJ)-307001.
Phone: +91 2972 222 567
home| about rjpls| directory| photo gallery| membership| library rules| internet links| feed back| contact us|
^ Go Top

© 2008-2023 PunLib
All Rights Reserved ((Read Best View))